1. Connecting: Tell me about your self

I want to learn more about the people who enter the site. When participating in social media I strive to connect with people within my profession and students across the U.S and world.  

2. Follow, add, friend: [Hello to all of My People]

Each person will receive notification that he or she has a friend request. It will be up to that person whether or not the invitation is accepted. I embrace everyone; unless I feel you are a stocker. I enjoy meeting new people, especially those within my major of public relations. In some networks like Myspace, I am more choosey because the network is so big and it is open to everyone and their brother.  I prefer to only add friends who I personally know.

3. Privacy, boundaries and safety: [Sorry guys! There are Something you just don’t need to Know]

Personally, I am one of those people who only give out information that is necessary. I am a very private person and do not like it when people get in my business. If an individual truly know me, then they that will see that side of me that others will not see. Some things should not be placed on a social network site i.e. pictures of people getting drink. I have privacy setting on my Facebook page.  

4. Signal to noise: [It Depends]

For the most part, signals do not bother me because I usual don’t pay any attention to them unless some thing catches my eye. However, I do not like it when others call people out because they disagree or do not like someone. If you have a beef with someone, be a man or woman and tell this person to their face or in a personal message. Another pet-peeve I have is with people who gossip on social network sites. That’s just childish!

5. Personal data and sharing: [Making the Right Connections]

Like I stated earlier, I really enjoy meeting new people. I would love to connect with individual who are or have an interest in public relations, broadcasting, and meteorology. After graduating, from Georgia Southern I plan to obtain a degree in meteorology. I have some questions about finding the right school for me to pursuing the degree. Also, I would like to interact with people who have an interest in pageants, coin collecting, and photography. I have been collecting all types of coins since elementary school. My oldest coin dates back to 1913 and my 50 state quarter collection is one coin away from being complete. Where are you Hawaii?

6. My networking needs and uses: [And Then There was One]

I am a part of social network sites Twitter, Facebook, Myspace, Linked-In. But there is only one site that I check frequently and that’s Facebook. All of my friends are on Facebook and I use it for business purposes as well. I like Twitter but I don’t have time for it anymore. I can’t even remember the last time I checked my Myspace. Linked-In is the newest site I have added myself too. So, I am still trying to figure that one out!

7. Think Before You Type & Send

Networks are an incredible tool to use but one must be aware that your words can come back to haunt you. Be professional and mindful of the information you put out. Depending on which network you are part of your actions can be seen by the rest of the world. Once it is out there it is out there! Proofread! Proofread! Proofread! Get other people to read it too. Spelling and Grammar check is only as good as the person using it.

